The Forsyte Obsession

If you’ve read my article on corsetry, Victorian undergarments, and the like or perhaps picked up on my rampant hearting of Edwardian and Victorian fashions on Etsy, you’ll notice I’ve become increasingly obsessed with those rather fanciful eras over the past month.  I forget exactly where it all started…I believe it had something to do with re-watching Vanity Fair or reading and re-reading Pride and Prejudice and The Age of Innocence over the chillier winter months.  In any case, about two weeks ago, as if the fashion gods themselves shone down upon my television, The Forsyte Saga appeared in my suggested Netflix queue!

And. Let. Me. Tell. You.

If you love stunningly detailed costumes, architecture, historic London/Paris complete with horse-drawn carriages, lavish antique furnishings, an ever-presence of bourbon and hand-rolled cigarettes, or the absolute best comic-relief character ever written/portrayed (“yes, that’s right, Monte’s back.”), you are going to die over the 2002-2003 mini-series that spans from late Victorian, through Edwardian, and into the twenties and thirties.

Irene Forsyte, in my opinion, is the most divinely dressed female character on the show and if there were an exhibit dedicated solely to her wardrobe, I would visit it every day until the very moment they took it down.  And even then, they would have to drag me away by my underskirts.  Although incredibly prolific, Phoebe De Gaye has never before designed costumes quite like these.  I mean, the spirited thought and exquisite details in her reproductions and overall styling would make any girl gush.

Anyway, hurry along, enough chit chat, ole girl, here are photos that do not even the slightest justice to watching the dresses in HD, rustling in a way that only silk taffeta can:

Irene Forsyte

Irene and Soames Forsyte

Forsyte Costumes

Irene and Soames Forsyte

Forsyte Costumes

Forsyte Costumes

Forsyte Costumes

Soames and Irene Forsyte

Soames and Irene Forsyte

Forsyte Saga Costumes

Monte Dartie, my favo(u)rite "ole chap"

Irene and Soames Forsyte

Irene Forsyte

ps: if you do watch it for more than the costumes, tell me if the scene where Monte drunkenly drives the car to Soames’ and then responds to his, ahem, situation (no spoilers!), “it’s a rotten show, ole boy.” isn’t your absolute favorite.  I die!

xoxo!

Comments

  1. OMG! I love love Forsyte Sage…. a must to watch if you love Victorian costumes….

Trackbacks

  1. […] love them!  Ever since becoming hopelessly obsessed with The Forsyte Saga (read about my obsession here) and subsequently, Montague Dartie, I still can’t get enough.  I’ve downloaded every […]

Leave a Reply

