Time Travel through The Hunger Games

I can’t help it.  For as long as I’ve been an adult, I’ve been having a secret love affair with novels and movies directed at the tween girl population.  I don’t know if it’s the fantasy of being at the center of a vampire-werewolf love triangle or a desperate need for escapism in this stressful world of responsibility, but I sure do love to run through the forests of Forks in my head.  In real life, not so much.

Forks, WA

Forks, WA. Oh yeah, I actually went. They didn't show the trailer parks in the movie...

 

So, in the succession of cult teen novels and movies, The Hunger Games naturally struck my fancy.  After picking up T at work last night, we had a few drinks and some delicious Brazilian noms and then sat in the middle back row (the only seats for me) and were transported into District 12.

And all that I’m going to say is that the fashion of the future-past is…strange.

It’s as if the Roman gladiators rode their chariots…

Gladiator Chariot Woman

Bronze statue of Boudicca by Thomas Thornycroft (wordinfo.info)

into West Virginia during the depression era…

Coal Mining Family Depression Era West Virginia

The Little Family of a Coal Miner in West Virginia (themoderatevoice.com)

and swung by a 1990’s rave…

1990s Ravers

(pinmag.jp)

on their way to a Jetson’s like future.

The Jetsons

(instyle.com)

Not exactly what I was picturing for the future of fashion, but I suppose era upon era of garment types + free will are going to result in some pretty interesting runway shows.

The Hunger Games Fashion

(people.com)

May fashion be ever in your favor.

Comments

  1. Going strictly on the pic you posted above and the trailers I’ve seen (I haven’t seen the movie yet) I’m getting a surreal steampunk-y Terry Gilliam vibe.

    • Yes exactly!! It’s such a strange combination, but it totally works. Maybe I should just start mixing in some Classical white wigs and Cleopatra eye makeup with my everyday wear :)

  2. I swear WordPress gets on my nerves. That comment is from me ^

Leave a Reply

