A cabbage rose wardrobe

I know it’s completely cliche, but lately I am so inspired by flowers.  The colors are organically vibrant or just the perfect shade of muted pale whimsy, the silhouettes are multi-dimensional with petals nesting in each other and surprise pockets of deepened color or pops of yellow pollen…let’s just say it’s a open-eyed study in the prosaic and a love affair re-discovered.

Naturally, I’m not speaking of the quintessential yellow daisy or red rose, but rather out-of-the-ordinary botanicals and varieties.

Are you envisioning dress silhouettes and dye-schemes from peonies and cornflowers like I am?

Peonies

Peonies. (swedishantiques.blogspot.com)

 

White Easter Lily

White lily (about.com)

 

Cabbage Rose Peach

Cabbage rose (flickriver.com)

 

Dahlia Lilac

Dahlia Lilac (universalhub.com)

 

Magnolia Blossom

Magnolia (sky-bolt.com)

 

Cornflowers

Cornflowers (featurepics.com)

 

Scabiosa

Scabiosa. (gardenblog.projo.com)

 

Wisteria

Wisteria. (femtalks.com)

 

Lisianthus

Lisianthus (outoftheordinarynursery.com)

 

Shabby Chic Bouquet

Shabby Chic Bouquet. (weddingdish.thinklikeabride.com)

 

Shabby Chic Bouquet

Shabby Chic Bouquet with Ranunculus (artfire.com)

 

Are there any flowers that inspire you?

Bisous.

Comments

  1. mothcaterpillar says:

    wow! wisteria looks so beautiful! I totally can see a maxidress :-)

  2. Love your photos ^^ The Wisteria just looks stunning! Incredible. A purple waterfall <3

    http://www.beilovebei.com

    • Thanks, lady! Sometimes I can’t believe how lovely nature is :) Is it sad that I learned about wisteria from the Desperate Housewives set at Universal, haha (Wisteria Lane)

  3. Love your photos. I grow 6 varieties of David Austin roses. The cabbage rose are among my favorites….

    • Your comment inspired me to do a little online poking around about David Austin roses, and I fell completely in love! Though while perusing, I confess I got sidetracked by the unconventional beauty of Noisettes…I didn’t realize there were so many rose varieties! I can’t wait to read up more on the antiques. Anywho, off to watch your “garden walk” (I LOVE your blog!)

Leave a Reply

