Whirlwind Adventure

Whew!  From a wedding in Toms River, to a quick respite amidst the funnel cake and salty sand at the beach in Ocean City, to a jaunt up to New York City and a spectacular view from atop the Bloomberg Building, it’s been one adventurous week.

The weekend started off with a serene Saturday morning – birds chirping, trees rustling, sky as blue as my Siamese kitten’s eyes.  Perfect for an afternoon wedding with my high school besties and a strawberry champagne toast.  Did I mention there was a pastry plate at every table?  Oh yes, cream puffs were devoured.  And I wore my very own Boardwalk Darling dress for the festivities.

The storm clouds held off the next day just until my time with shore pizza, crashing waves, sea glass hunts, and sandy toes was exhausted.  Nostalgia is heavy for me in Ocean City, where I spent the best parts of my childhood living amongst the vintage candy colored seascape from atop a balcony on Ocean Ave.

Ocean City, New Jersey

Ocean City, New Jersey

Ocean City, New Jersey

Ocean City, New Jersey

Ocean City, New Jersey

The next day I slept in, eventually making my way up the Turnpike and into the skyscrapers of New York City.  A tour of the alien-like and technologically stunning Bloomberg building left us awe-inspired and ready to tackle urban nature in Central Park.

From The Rambles, I headed to Northern Spy Food Co. in search of herb-heavy cocktails and farm-to-table deliciousness.  And, well, let me just say that I most certainly was not disappointed.  I started with the kale salad and roasted beets which were flavorful enough to convert a beet hater into a beet lover.  I ordered the roasted chicken entree and I would happily drown in a pool of its golden raisin embellished glaze.  Augustus Gloop style.  The dessert, a rustic and unfortunately flavorless strawberry shortcake with mint sorbet was a disappointing end, but I forgot all about it after finishing a gin and pepper concoction followed by a celebratory glass of Prosecco.  Definitely a solid 4 1/2 stars; if you are in the East Village, do revel in Northern Spy Food Co.‘s authentic rustic-ness and sparkle in its dimly lit ambiance.  And get the chicken!  Or the shrimp.  Plus the pork loin (which my friend saw in half-pig form coming in off the farm truck).

Oh forget it, just order the whole savory menu.

Bllomberg building NYC

New York Bloomberg Building

New York Bloomberg Building

New York Central Park Boats

NYC central park

Northern Spy Food Co NYC

Northern Spy Food Co NYC

Northern Spy Food Co NYC

And now I’m back in sunny West Hollywood, loving on my dear cats and reminiscing about my Northeastern hurricane of an adventure.

Bisous to you; I hope you had an equally fantastic week.

Comments

  1. I Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award.
    If you’d like to accept this award then please take it to your blog and pass it on – if this is not your thing then please accept this as a compliment on your blog. http://hookedbyme.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

