Farm Girl Romance: DIY wedding bouquets

When my mom asked me to help her make a bouquet for her courthouse wedding this past weekend, I don’t think she quite anticipated how much of an exciting opportunity this would be for me.  Living in a flat in West Hollywood, I don’t have much space to grow, so this was my opportunity to get my hands a little dirty and let my creativity wander in her lush backyard.

While tromping around the compost and creek banks, I was inspired to create different looks based on backyard vegetation, ribbon and tulle that I brought from my sewing room, and my mom’s midnight pilfering of the gardens and fields surrounding her home.  With a lot of laughter and a ton of ridiculousness, I also named each bouquet.

This one I called ‘Back to the Yard’ since I only half-seriously impaled what my mom calls “itchy balls” (a/k/a sweetgum fruit) on sticks dredged from her compost piles.

 

DIY Wildflower Bouquet

‘Back to the Yard’ bouquet

 

DIY Wildflower Bouquet

‘Farm Girl Romance’ bouquet

 

DIY Wildflower Bouquet

‘The Lazy Susan’ bouquet (named after the lazy mother)

 

DIY Flower bouquet

The lazy mother…she abandoned the bouquet project pretty much at the start

 

DIY Wildflower Bouquet

‘Pink and Blue’ bouquet

 

Pink Roses

Pink roses pilfered from the neighbor’s garden

 

DIY Wildflower Bouquet

The winner!  ‘The Lazy Susan’ bouquet

 

And here are some photos from the courthouse wedding and the Philadelphia Delaware River cruise reception.

 

DIY Wedding Hair

 

DIY Wedding

 

Vintage Lace Illusion Dress

 

Delaware River - Chart House

 

Delaware River Moshulu Philadelphia

 

Delaware River Benjamin Franklin Bridge Philadelphia

 

Congrats to the newlyweds!

Bisous.

 

 

Comments

  1. mothcaterpillar says:

    wow! I like the second bouquet! and the shoes of the bride! ;-)

    • Hooray, thanks!! Oh, my mom was sooo proud of those shoes. Mostly because they’re Gucci (imagine her saying that in a New Jersey accent with an ‘oh my gawd’ thrown in for good measure) and she got them on sale ;)

Leave a Reply

