Afternoon delights

For me, this means food!  Colorful salads that pack a nutritious punch, fruity cocktails, pastel desserts, and foamy lattes coax me out of the boudoir and into summer sun patios across West Hollywood.

I know, I know.  The Ivy is a completely cliche place to brunch.  And I’ll tell you that every time I’ve been, neither Jennifer Love Hewitt nor Lindsay Lohan have been there nibbling on greens.  But I still love it.  Their butter lettuce salad with lobster and fresh papaya is one of the best salads I’ve tasted and the breezy white umbrellas and floral motif put me in a sublimely romantic state of mind.

The Ivy restaurant

The Ivy in West Hollywood (photo courtesy of The Ivy)

 

The Ivy restaurant

The Ivy in West Hollywood (photo courtesy of The Ivy)

 

The Ivy restaurant

Rustic interior of The Ivy in West Hollywood (photo courtesy of The Ivy)

Lobster Salad at The Ivy

Butter lettuce salad with lobster and papaya (photo by Anjou)

 

After a deliciously healthy lunch, naturally, I wanted some pie!  Joan’s on Third is always packed on the weekends so I thought I’d give it a go…and holy wow.  Not only do they serve up the most incredible hazelnut meringue cake and the smoothest lattes, but they offer a to-go picnic that you can order in advance as well as house an entire artisan and country style market.  And it’s tres adorable!  Inside, they have long wooden tables for customers to sit family farmhouse style and outside, oh outside…a patio complete with water served in old-timey seltzer bottles.

But enough gushing; let’s just say they have a new number one fan here.

Joan's on Third West Hollywood

Joan’s on Third in West Hollywood (photo courtesy of Joan’s on Third)

 

Joan's on Third in West Hollywood

Joan’s on Third in West Hollywood (photo courtesy of Joan’s on Third)

 

Hazelnut meringue cake and double latte at Joan’s on Third (photo by Anjou)

 

Hazelnut meringue cake Joan's on Third

I was halfway through devouring it when I realized I forgot to take a picture. Hazelnut meringue cake at Joan’s on Third. (photo by Anjou)

 

Double latte Joan's on Third

A casualty of red lipstick. Double latte at Joan’s on Third (photo by Anjou)

 

For posterity’s sake or the lobster salad and (really expensive) garden fresh cocktails plus excellent people-watching, I highly recommend The Ivy outdoor patio in West Hollywood.  And for all around scrumptious diddlyumptious and adorableness to the max, Joan’s on Third is a must.

Bisous.

Leave a Reply

